Friday, April 27, 2012

2012 Battle of the BeadSmith

In an effort to create more awareness of some of the incredible bead artistry being executed by bead masters worldwide, Steven Weiss (Marketing Manager for The Beadsmith) thought it would be fun to set up a beading "Tournament" where original works could be viewed, shared, and celebrated both by the participants, and the beading public alike.
64 seed bead artists were invited to participate in an elimination "Tournament" to determine which piece of their original beadwork best captures the imagination of 101 of their fellow designers, specialty bead shop owners, and members of various beading magazine editorial staffs.

I, along with Patrick Duggan, Joanne Browne, Neva Brown and Lauren MacGregor were all selected for inclusion within this Tournament and collectively we are representing Australia in this event. I personally am not only honoured but flattered with the inclusion as I am keeping company with some extremely talented artists from around the world.

Just cast your eye over the incredible Participants list of beading artists!

May 14th sees random artist pairings created, establishing a first round of competition, consisting of 32 artists vs. artist "contests". (For example, round one might have the work of Californian Linda Roberts paired up against the work of Vermont's Nancy Dale, and so on.)
Artists will have seven weeks from the announcement of the first round pairings to create, a single piece of original beadwork. The 62 competitors not involved in a particular round one "contest", plus 41 invited judges, will vote for the piece that best captures their imagination. A majority of at least 85 of the possible 103 total voters will be enough to determine a winner. All necklaces, bracelets, earring, brooches, headpieces, belts, handbags, or any other wearable adornments are acceptable for submission. The deadline for all of the submissions, by the artists, is July 10th, Tuesday
The 32 winners of round one will be randomly paired again in one of the 16 new "contests" in round 2 and the voting process will begin again.
The 8 winners of round two are again randomly paired in 4 new round 3 "contests" to determine the final four competitors.
The 4 winners of round 3 are randomly paired in two "contests" to determine the final two competitors.
Round 4 determines the winner.......
Competitors can use almost any beads or materials, so long as the piece falls under the umbrella of beadweaving, or bead embroidery. Japanese seed beads***, Metal seed beads, Preciosa Czech seed beads, semi precious stones, Swarovski and Preciosa Crystal, fire polished glass, and individually created art glass and ceramic beads etc are all perfectly acceptable.

***As the Beadsmith has a relationship with the Miyuki Company of Japan, they have requested that competitors preferably use Miyuki Seed beads when using Japanese beads for this competition.

The Participants:

Olga Petterson-Sweden
Sigifredo Contreras-Mexico
Linda Roberts- USA
Heather Kingsley Heath- England
Sharayah Sheldon-USA
Helena Tang-Singapore
Nancy Dale-USA
Cynthia Newcomer Daniel-USA
Patrick Duggan-Australia
Marsha Wiest Hines- USA
Carol Dean Sharpe-USA
Annie Hatvani-Hungary
Christina Neit-USA, Sue Horine-USA
Ann Braginsky-Israel
Lea Palickova-Czech Republic
Alexandra Sydorenko-USA
Betty Stephan-USA
Callie Mitchell-USA
Christian Rodriguez-USA
Eva Dobos-Hungary
Katka Vaclavikova-Czech Republic
Misan Tejre-Sweden
Kinga Nichols-USA
Melissa Ingram-Australia
Anneta Valious-France
Mikki Ferrugiaro-USA
Miriam Cielo Shimon-Israel
Amy Katz-USA
Elke Leonhardt Rath- Germany
Irina Chikineva-Russia
Edgar Lopez Disenos-Dominican Republic
Kassie Inman-USA
Orsolya Füzesi-Hungary
Jill Thomas-England
Ibolya Ingesné Barkóczi-Hungary
Éva Csizmadia Lajosné-Hungary
Nausikka Dahllof-Sweden
Nella Moskvichjova-Russia
Julia Turova-Russia
Alla Vizir-Ukraine
Lynn Davy-England
Dini Alves-USA
Guzialia Reed-Japan
Alla Maslennikova -Russia
Sandra Dokter van Esveld-The Netherlands
Olga Haserodt-Germany
Joanne Browne-Australia
Jennifer Chasalow VanBenschoten-USA
Rosita Pisarchick-USA
Roxan O'brien USA
Christine Boyer Maj-USA
Kathy King-USA
Susan Brackett-USA
Olga Shumilova-Russia
Neva Brown-Australia
Ella Des- Belgrade Serbia
Katherine Gezey-Ukraine
Lauren Macgregor -Australia
Hannah Rosner-Ohio
Ekaterina Kalinina-Russia
Marta Koudelova-Czech Republic
Terri Richards-USA
Marina Nosova-Russia

The Judges:

Sabine Lippert-Germany, Smadar Grossmann-Israel, Maggie Roschyk-USA, Adele Rogers Recklies-USA, Diane Hyde-USA, Jean Campbell-USA, Patrizia Tager-Israel, Zoya Gutina-USA, Jana Tarhala-Finland, Kerrie Slade-England, Laura Boudloche Zeiner-USA, Cath Thomas-Switzerland, Heather Collin-South Africa, Claudia Schuman-Germany, Chloe Menage-England (Bead Magazine Editor), Laura Andrews-USA, Kathleen Mccabe-Elsey- USA, Julia Gerlach-USA (Bead and Button Magazine Editor), Diane Fitzgerald- USA, Verena Greene-Christ- Germany (Perlen Poesie Magazine), Jean Power- England, Ana Garcia-USA, Paulette Rosner Baron-USA, Amy Blevins- New Jersey, Kelly Nealon-Australia (Australian Beading Magazine Editor), Melinda Barta-USA (Beadwork Magazine Editor), Karin Nilsson-Sweden, Jo Lochhead-Scotland, Kandra Norsigian-California, Kenj Katsuoka-Japan (Miyuki Company), Juliet Browse-England, Jamie Cloud Eakin-USA, Pamela Hawkins-USA (Bead Design Studio Magazine Editor), Marjon Donker-The Netherlands ( Editor Polymer To Art Magazine), Kate Bannister Tracton- USA, Deb Moffet Hall-USA (Bead- Patterns The Magazine & Quick Stitch Peyote Card), Barbara Conrad-USA, Lea Avroch-USA, MaryLou Holvenstot-USA, Anna Elizabeth Draeger-USA, Galina Pchelkina-Russia (Editor of Чудесные мгновения Magazine)